Keto Lettuce Burger

The best food in my whole LIFE. Definitely only for cheese, bacon or BLT lovers!

Warning:
This is the best meal in my whole LIFE! If you fall in love with it, don’t blame me!

First of all, I’m a fan of fats. shallots/ onion, and a hater of bun (I actually never like bread and such and won’t eat it unless it’s the last option or I just don’t want to hurt the cook’s or the host’s feeling. Same feeling as rice. Mom had to make 3 bowl of rice porridge when I was a baby because I kept trying to vomit it. Growing up I get better, I can eat them, but if I have any option, then I won’t).

Okay, back to the burger. FYI, going through this COVID19 outbreak, onion become so freakin’ expensive here in Indonesia. The cheapest I found so far is IDR 150,000/ Kg or around USD10.5 with the recent rate. It was usually just around IDR 23,000. More than 6x the normal price!!

So, since I badly want to eat burger, I have to substitute it to the, well…better price. Shallots! Price is less than half and it taste great also.

So onion lovers, you can always seek comforts from shallots. Also, I know peeling it up is a homework (in Indonesia, shallot is small. 2cm diameter shallot is considered a big one) and that’s the reason why I always peel it up in front of the TV and prep it up so it’s ready to use.

So, let’s start!
THE BURGER PATTIES
Portion: it’ll make 12.5 of 7cm diameter and 1.5cm patties.

Ingredients:

    • 1 clove of garlic, grate it
    • 10 clove of medium shallots, grate it (the more the better 😉)
    • 125 gr of grated mozzarella (you just need to use the same type of grater. Save you the dish washing time).
    • Paprika powder
    • Salt
    • Pepper
    • Dry minced onion (just because I have. But this one is optional)
    • 1 Kg of minced beef (ask for the one with more fats. It has flavor and it helps the patty stays together).

Instruction:

    1. Mix all the ingredients. Make sure that it mixed well.
    2. You can grill them now of keep it in the freezer for next meal. But remember to separate each other using baking paper.
    3. Grill them 3 minutes each side.
    4. If you want to put your (extra) cheese slices on it, put them on the grilled side and cover it up.

BURGER SAUCE

You will need relish or what I just did is the refrigerator pickles (I crushed them using the blender with the extra pickle water) – it already have the pepper, salt and the pickles!

    • Mayonnaise
    • Extra virgin olive oil
    • Minced onion/ onion powder
    • Garlic powder.

Mix them up together, be careful not too add too much liquid. You want the sauce consistency. Not the dressing one.
LETTUCE BURGER

    1. Lettuce
    2. Burger sauce
    3. Burger patty
    4. Cheese
    5. Pickles
    6. Crispy Bacon
    7. Hot sauce
    8. Tomato slices
    9. Burger sauce
    10. Lettuce

In that order. And eat.

After 16 years cooking, this dish by far is at my top favorite! So juicy, so balance, so cheesy oh God… It’s great!

My bf told me this when he saw me eating this burger, “Well my late Grandma said, Kisses don’t last, but good cooking do.” I agree 1000% Grandma!

IMG-20200405-WA0004

PS:
You cannot see the patty since it’s covered by 3 LAYERS of cheese. My bad! 😂😂

Update:

Just ate it for dinner, finally get the pic of the patty!

Oh! My plant-based bf decided to cheat. He cheated happily! 😂😂😂

BLT_Burger_sandwich.jpg

lettuce_burger.jpg

Author: Ayieks

A woman. His partner in crime. A daughter. A mother. A friend. A colleague. A neighbor. A CX enthusiast. A digital marketing enthusiast. A traveler. A lover. A loner. A gadget enthusiast. A cooking recipe twister. An internet crawler.

Leave a comment