DIY: Easy Ground Celery

Do you ever feel uneasy to buy a stack of celery from the store (which is usually too much for 1-time cooking)? I do. Especially because I only cook for 2. But keeping it in the fridge is also not a good idea, because the day after, the leaves are withered. But the stalks can still be kept wonderfully for about a week in a meal-box full of water in the fridge.

What made me uneasy is to throw away food. The leaves could be such an enjoyable flavour in your cooking. So, one day I tried to dry the leaves in the oven. The logic was… few minutes in the oven, the leaves will be dried, and then I can just use my grinder (the same grinder I use for other dry seasonings) and then use the dried/ ground celery for soup, ranch dressing, or dry onion soup mix dip and so on and so on.

So I did!

INGREDIENTS: Celery leaves.

TOOL: Grinder

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 175 degrees Celsius/ 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. All you need to do is to pick only the leaves and put them in the baking pan.
  3. Put the tray in the oven and leave it there for 10 minutes, then after 10 minutes, check if it’s dried. Warning: Never leave it. I did it once, and then I completely forgot I have celery in the oven! As a result, I had burnt celery leaves. (AUCH!)
  4. When your leaves dried and easily crumbled, take the tray out of the oven, transfer the celery to the grinder, and grind to your liking.

Here is the result (up close and personal!)

20180223_174342_HDR (1)

 

 

Author: Ayieks

A woman. His partner in crime. A daughter. A mother. A friend. A colleague. A neighbor. A CX enthusiast. A digital marketing enthusiast. A traveler. A lover. A loner. A gadget enthusiast. A cooking recipe twister. An internet crawler.

Leave a comment