The Best and Easiest Chicken Gravy Recipe

So, today I’m feeling a bit like an adventurer. I wanna make chicken gravy from the scratch based on ingredients I love and think are the best pair for chicken. So I decided NOT to take a look at any recipes and just go with my guts. It turned out AMAZING!

No. I’m not the only person who said it, by the way. Both my bf and his best buddy said it too. Then I decided to write down the recipe now before my limited memory decided to archive it to the place I would never be able to retrieve. (yeah, I’m THAT bad. hihihi)

This gravy is best made using homemade chicken stock (I promise I will give you the recipe as soon as I make it this week), and chicken fat that was dripped of your roasted chicken. But of course, you can just replace every cup of chicken stock with 1 chicken bullion cube and 250 ml (1 cup) of water, then double the butter to replace the chicken fat. (BUT, I really recommend the chicken fat drips!).

Here are the INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tbsp butter (you can use salted or unsalted butter. Just remember to adjust the salt)
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tbsp cumin (a lot? yes, that’s because I love it. But you can adjust it to your taste. Start with 2 tsp at least)
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp chicken fat drips (or replace it with butter)
  • 2 cups of chicken stock (or 2 chicken bouillon cube + 500 ml water)
  • Black pepper
  • Salt

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Start with 1 tbsp butter in a pan using just medium flame, and add the thinly sliced yellow onion right after the butter is melted.
  2. Once the onion starts to look transparent, add in the thinly sliced garlic. Keep turning them until caramelized.
  3. Once it’s beginning to be caramelized, add dried thyme and cumin and keep turning them around 2 minutes.
  4. Add in all-purpose flour and mix it with the onion and the garlic and after they’re mixed, pour the chicken fat (or extra butter) in and turn it for 1 minute, then pour in the chicken stock (or water with the chicken bouillon cube).
  5. Shimmer it on small flame to thicken to about 1 cup (Since you need to strain it later, take a wild guess that after it’s strained, it’ll be 1 cup)
  6. Season it with salt and pepper, taste it, and after you’re happy with it, leave it there for 2 extra minutes before straining it.
  7. Now all you need to do is just straining the gravy and prepare to receive praises with grace!

What can you do with the gravy? Well, pour it on a chicken sandwich for breakfast, or on your mashed potato at lunch and on your roasted chicken for dinner! You can even pour it on your pasta! Use your wild imagination! Be crazy about it JUST BECAUSE YOU CAN! Make more of it because this recipe is only made for 1 cup of gravy!

Lemme know how it goes! If you twist this, let me know how you twist it and I promise I will give it a try!

Author: Ayieks

A woman. His partner in crime. A daughter. A mother. A friend. A colleague. A neighbor. A CX enthusiast. A digital marketing enthusiast. A traveler. A lover. A loner. A gadget enthusiast. A cooking recipe twister. An internet crawler.

One thought on “The Best and Easiest Chicken Gravy Recipe”

Leave a comment