Easy Cheese Sauce Recipe

This recipe has been in our household for years now. I begin to make it around 3 years ago, and then I stop looking. It is so good that my BF decided to use this sauce for his lasagna, mac & cheese and my scalloped potato.

You won’t believe how easy it is, especially if you live in Indonesia (like I do!), where cheese is so expensive and you don’t want to use any recipe that is using more than 2 type of cheese.

For your information, I twisted this recipe from KetoDiet Blog and adjust it to my easiness in doing it here. So if you are following Keto lifestyle, feel free to use the original recipe since mine is not (but I put the substitute in the ingredients section if you want to do it).

So here it goes!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 114 gr cream cheese
  • 1 cup/ 250 ml fresh milk (or if you are completely Keto, replace with 1/2 cup of whipping cream + 1/2 cup of water)
  • 227 gr cheddar cheese, shred it.
  • Crushed black pepper
  • Optional: dash of ground paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, ground celery

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Use the pot, melt the butter over medium flame.
  2. Then add in room temperature cream cheese and whisk it so all are incorporated.
  3. Then add in the milk (or the whipping cream), start with 1/4 cup and keep whisking it until it looks smooth. Keep adding the liquid slowly while whisking it.
  4. Wait until you can see the little bubbles (it means your liquid is hot enough).
  5. Turn off the flame, and add the cheese while keep on whisking it until your cheese melted.
  6. Up to here, the cheese sauce is already lickable! But… I love to add up some other ingredients. I always add a dash of ground paprika, crushed black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and ground celery.

One thing we both always do after I finish making this sauce: finger licking the bottom of the pot after the sauce is transferred. It’s that good! Last night, it was my BF’s turn, since he’s making his amazing lasagna using this cheese sauce. It was a treat! Look at this! It looks YUMMY!!!

Wait. What?! Recipe for the lasagna? He doesn’t even want to share with me. I know. Bummer!

20180220_190229_HDR

Author: Ayieks

A woman. His partner in crime. A daughter. A mother. A friend. A colleague. A neighbor. A CX enthusiast. A digital marketing enthusiast. A traveler. A lover. A loner. A gadget enthusiast. A cooking recipe twister. An internet crawler.

Leave a comment