(Very) Spicy Shrimp Paste Shallot Chilli Sauce Easy Recipe

I have a dependency to spicy sauces. For me, eating my meal without any heat comes out of the spicy meals is not really enjoyable (well of course, not to all kind of food). So even though people in my country said spicy sauce (we call it “Sambal”) can only be enjoyed with rice, I don’t agree. It goes with eggplants, any parts of a chicken, beef, shrimp, and so on, and so on.

Yesterday I made one of my favourite chilli sauces. This recipe can go up to 14 – 15 full tablespoons (around 400 ml) or in my personal dictionary: 6 meals. It is not as spicy as my usual garlic chilli sauce in my opinion, but anyway, let me know if you try this recipe.

I know my bf called this sambal as toxic waste that you can only approach in a hazmat suit, but I think he’s just not really into spicy food. hihihi…

Here are the INGREDIENTS:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 200 gr curly red chilli*
  • 100 gr Evil chilli (most people call it Ghost Chilli)**
  • 200 gr shallot
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 8 gr shrimp paste (terasi)
  • 8 Tbsp coconut oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Put all the ingredients (except the shrimp paste) to the pan, and stir-fry until withered. It will take you around 7 – 8 minutes.
    20180225_143227_HDR
  2. Meanwhile, grill the shrimp paste and put them in the mini chopper.
  3. Using the mini chopper, put them all (careful it’s hot!) and grind it. You can actually use the blender, but the thing about blender is, some of the chilli paste will be left behind and I just don’t like it. Using this mini chopper is better in my opinion. Traditionally, Javanese people in Indonesia using pestle and mortar like the one I used in my spicy instant noodle recipe. But, if you can be faster then why not? *grins*
    20180225_143441_HDR
  4. When everything is chopped and blended and crushed, put them all back in the pan. Using small flame, let it shimmer there. This way you make sure that your chilli sauce will not easily turn bad.
    20180225_145739_HDR
  5. When you’re done, let it cool and transfer it in a jar. Make sure you keep it in the fridge if you live in a tropical country like Indonesia. It will last up to 3 weeks.

 

*
20180225_141642_HDR

**
20180225_141613_HDR

Author: Ayieks

A woman. His partner in crime. A daughter. A mother. A friend. A colleague. A neighbor. A CX enthusiast. A digital marketing enthusiast. A traveler. A lover. A loner. A gadget enthusiast. A cooking recipe twister. An internet crawler.

Leave a comment